BVU Science and Business Students Honored for Academic Achievement

BVU Science and Business Students Honored for Academic Achievement

BVU Science and Business Students Honored for Academic Achievement
Recipients of the Clifford A. Rae Academic Achievement Award from the Harold Walter Siebens School of Business (left) and the School of Science (right).

Nine Buena Vista University business students and eight science students have been selected for the Clifford A. Rae Academic Achievement Award for the 2016 calendar year.

The awards, which range up to $5,000, were created by two separate $750,000 endowments from the foundations established by Dr. Harold Walter Siebens and named after the long-time advisor and counsel to Siebens and the foundations. The endowments support annual awards for up to three pre-qualified, academically high-performing BVU business and science students in each of the second, third and fourth years of school.

“The Clifford A. Rae Academic Achievement Award is designed for a very simple purpose: to encourage the pursuit of academic excellence by rewarding superior academic performance,” said Ben Donath, dean of BVU's School of Science and associate professor of mathematics. “Through these very substantial financial awards, BVU’s School of Science students are sent a very clear message consistent with Mr. Rae’s and the Siebens Foundation’s values, that academic accomplishment should be honored and rewarded.”

The competitive program, which rewards business and science students who excel in their academic pursuits, is open to students who live in Iowa or adjacent states and who meet certain financial need guidelines. Students may receive the award more than once during their years at BVU.

In addition to academic excellence, the program encourages quality learning experiences for students outside the classroom, such as internships, study abroad, international and domestic travel during BVU’s January interim, and individual academic research. Fourth-year students can also use the funds for graduate school applications, entrance/exam costs or professional certification. Upon graduation, students can also use remaining Award funds to help pay down student loans.

“Compared to most scholarships, the Clifford A. Rae Academic Achievement Award is truly unique in its flexibility,” added Dr. James Falter, dean of the Harold Walter Siebens School of Business. “Specifically, students have some discretionary ability to utilize the proceeds in the way that best meets their goals including paying for student debt, graduate school or subsidizing internships.”

Business recipients

  • Fourth year recipients: Colin Hansen, a computer science major from Winside, Neb.; Amber Decker, a business and accounting double major from Rembrandt; and Chau Nguyen, a business major from Storm Lake.
  • Third year recipients: Alyssa Kragelund, a business major from Anita; Keely Bycroft, a business major from Bondurant; and Alexander J Spake, a business major from Sioux City.
  • Second year recipients: Alan Maldonado, a business major from Lenexa, Kan.; Tara Harris, an accounting major from Emmetsburg; and Presley Shumate, an accounting major from Milo.

Science recipients

  • Fourth year recipients: Tarynne Kinghorn, a biology major from Shenandoah; Carly Ouverson, a biology major from Fertile; and Sarah Schlichte, a biology major from Templeton.
  • Third year recipients: Emma Konkler, a chemistry with teaching licensure major from Audubon; Christian Kladstrup, a biology major from Spencer; and Tanner Cook, an environmental science major from Walford.
  • Second year recipients: Aaron Nicolaisen, a computer science major from Correctionville; and Meghan Bissen, a biology major from Harlan.