Buena Vista University

BVU Student Media Organizations Honored at State Conference

Feb. 9, 2013

Buena Vista University’s student-operated media organizations won several first place awards and other honors at the 2013 conference of the Iowa College Media Association (ICMA) held Feb. 7-8 in Des Moines.

The Tack Online was named the “2012 multimedia organization of the year” by the ICMA and The Tack Online and its staff won several honors including three first place awards. Last fall, The Tack made the conversion from print to a fully-online publication. The other student-operated media are University Cable Network (UCN) Studios, and KBVU radio.

“One of the most gratifying things about the awards we won this year is that they reflect the new direction of the Digital Media program at BVU, a true focus on developing professional multimedia storytellers,” says Jamii Claiborne, assistant professor of digital media and faculty advisor to The Tack Online. “The students often showcase that storytelling ability in our student organizations, publications and productions, and we faculty were thrilled to see their hard work and creativity recognized.”

BVU students attending the conference were:

Also attending were digital media professors Jerry Johnson, Dr. Andrea Frantz and Dr. Bruce Ellingson. Johnson is past president of the ICMA.

These students were also involved in creation of several of the media projects that received awards, but did not attend the conference:

The BVU student media organizations received the following ICMA awards:

2012 Multimedia Awards

Best Breaking Story

Best Original Content

Best Multimedia Slide Show

Best Blog

Best Online Edition

2012 Newspaper Awards

General Excellence

Best Infographic

2012 Radio Awards

Best Commercial

Best News Programming

Best Show Entertainment

2012 Television Awards

Best Variety, Music and Comedy Program

Best Value - Regional Colleges 2015

Buena Vista University
610 W. 4th Street
Storm Lake, IA 50588

A-Z Index | Site Search