Scholars Day Showcase Information

BVU's 13th annual Scholars Day will be held from on Saturday, April 29, 2017. Scholars Day is a great opportunity to share your best academic paper, laboratory project, piece of art, musical or theatrical performance, literary critique, creative writing, or business plan in a friendly, interactive and intellectually engaging environment. Presentations are welcome from all disciplines, either as poster presentations or as 15-minute oral presentations. By presenting, you’ll get to enlighten a broader audience than usual, list the accomplishment in your résumé and receive cool souvenirs, and you’ll also be invited to attend the Scholars Day luncheon.

Please note, the schedule for Scholars Day is different this year because it will be on a Saturday. The new schedule is as follows:

  • 12:00: Keynote Speaker
  • 12:30: Group Photo
  • 12:45 - 1:45: Poster Presentations
  • 1:45 - 4:00: Verbal Presentations

The main prerequisite for your participation in this lively academic event is sponsorship by a member of the BVU faculty/staff. If you've got some exciting scholarly work you would like to share, contact a faculty/staff member soon and discuss your presentation idea. Next, write a title and abstract – i.e., a short paragraph of no more than 200 words that summarizes your presentation — then go to to register and upload your abstract by 4:00 pm on Friday, March 31, 2017 (just after Spring Break). (Note: abstracts will be printed in the Scholars Day program exactly as received, so proofread carefully). Spaces are limited – sign up early!

Those students wishing to create poster presentations or show slides may use the Adobe or Microsoft Publisher poster templates, or the Microsoft PowerPoint templates for slides available on the Scholars Day Showcase website. Poster printing will be free for approved submissions. 

For more information about Scholars Day, go to or feel free to contact one the 2016-2017 Events Committee members listed below.

Dr. Steven Mills, Chair of the Events Committee of the Faculty Senate
President Fred Moore
Dr. Jim Salvucci, Vice President for Academic Affairs
Dr. Jennifer Hecht, Business
Dr. Jamie Schoenherr, Education
Dr. Miyuki Vamadevan-Arimoto, Social Science, Philosophy and Religion
Dr. James Hampton, Science
Professor Jerry Johnson, Communications and Art
Jennifer Felton, University Marketing and Communications
Mark Kirkholm, Office of Student Affairs
Elisabeth Niebuhr, Student Senate
Laura Petersen, Student Senate
Samantha Hirschman, Student Senate 
Tawney Schreier, Student Senate