Faculty

Education & Exercise Science

Faculty

Education & Exercise Science

Julie Finnern

Dean, School of Education and Exercise Science
finnern@bvu.edu
B.A., Wheaton College; M. A., University of Minnesota; Ed. D. University of South Dakota

expand description

Casey Baker

Assistant Professor of Counselor Education
baker4@bvu.edu
ABD, Counselor Education and Supervision; MS, Mental Health Counseling; BS, Psychology Minnesota State University, Mankato, MN

expand description

Amy Barth

Assistant Professor of Education
barth@bvu.edu
B.H.S., University of Missouri Columbia; M.A., University of South Dakota; Ph.D., University of Kansas; Postdoctoral Fellowship, University of Houston; Certificate of Clinical Competence, Speech-Language Pathology, American Speech-Language-Hearing Association; Certificate of Clinical Competence,State of Missouri: Missouri State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts Speech Language Pathologist, License No. 116598

expand description

John Bedward

Assistant Professor of Education
Bedward@bvu.edu
BSc, Technology Education, North Carolina State University, Raleigh; MS, Technology Education, North Carolina State University, Raleigh; PhD, Science Education, North Carolina State University, Raleigh

expand description

Lisa Bengtson

Clinical Education Coordinator/Instructor
BengtsonL@bvu.edu
BA, Athletic Training, Augustana College, Sioux Falls, SD; MS, Athletic Training, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, Iowa; EdD (in progress), Interdisciplinary Leadership, Creighton University, Omaha, NE

expand description

Janet Berry

Assistant Professor of Exercise Science
berry@bvu.edu
B.S., Iowa State University; M.A., Mankato State University

Erica Boettcher

Instructor of Special Education
boettcher@bvu.edu
B.A. in Elementary Education, Buena Vista University; M.A. in Special Education, Morningside University

expand description

Shaley Cullen

Instructor of Education
CullenS@bvu.edu
M.Ed Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Iowa State University; BA English, Secondary Education, Buena Vista University

James Farnsworth

Assistant Professor of Exercise Science
farnsworth@bvu.edu
B.A. University of North Carolina Wilmington; M.S. Ohio University; Ph.D. Middle Tennessee State University

expand description

Katie Frick

Instructor of Exercise Science
frickk@bvu.edu
BS, Athletic Training, Lynchburg College; MS, Exercise Science, Syracuse University

expand description

Callè Friesen

Assistant Professor of Education
Friesen@bvu.edu
BA English and Secondary Education, Buena Vista University; MSE Teacher Effectiveness and Professional Development with Reading Specialist, Drake University; Ed.D Cultural Literacy and Educational Leadership, Drake University

expand description

Brittany Garling

Assistant Professor of Education
garling@bvu.edu
BA Spanish and Secondary Education, Wartburg College MA Foreign language Education and ESL, University of Iowa PhD Foreign Language Education and ESL University of Iowa

expand description

Matthew Hanson

Advisor in Exercise Science
hansonm@bvu.edu
BA, Athletic Training, Buena Vista University; MS, Education-teaching and coaching, Southwest Minnesota State University; EdD, Adult and Higher Education, South Dakota State University

expand description

Mark Hopkins

Assistant Professor Education
hopkins@bvu.edu
B.A. Buena Vista University; M.S. Peru State College; M.S. Northwest Missouri State University; ABD, University of Iowa

expand description

Peter Johnson

Instructor of English as a Second Language
Johnson10@bvu.edu

BA, history & Asian studies, St. Olaf College, Northfield; MA, international studies: Japan, University of Washington, Seattle; MA, English: TESL, St. Cloud State University, St. Cloud

expand description

Robbie Ludy

Professor of Special Education
Ludy@bvu.edu
B.S., M.A., Northeast Missouri State University; Ed.D., University of Missouri, Columbia

Dominic Morales

Assistant Athletic Trainer
moralesd@bvu.edu
B.S.in Athletic Training, Lindenwood University; M.A. Leadership, Boise State University

expand description

Jamie Schoenherr

Instructor of Exercise Science
SchoenherrJ@bvu.edu
B.A., Buena Vista University; M.S., Western Illinois University

expand description

Daniel Strohmyer

Director & Asst. Professor M.Ed. Program
strohmyer2@bvu.edu
Undergraduate: Biology major/Chemistry minor, University of Nebraska Masters: Integration of Technology into the Classroom, Walden University Doctorate: Doctor of Philosophy in Education, Walden University

expand description

Karin Strohmyer

Assistant Professor of Special Education
strohmyer@bvu.edu
B.S., University of Nebraska, Kearney; M.A., University of Colorado, Colorado Springs; Ph.D., Walden University

expand description

Shinichiro Sugiura

Assistant Professor of Exercise Science
sugiura@bvu.edu
Ph.D. in Exercise Science, University of Toledo, Toledo, OH (Emphasis on Exercise Physiology); M.S. in Athletic Training, Indiana State University, Terre Haute, IN;  B.S. in Athletic Training, Indiana State University, Terre Haute, IN

expand description

Jenny Wagstaff

Assistant Professor-Counselor Education
wagstaff@bvu.edu
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Blacksburg, VA -Ph.D. Counselor Education (CACREP Accredited); Dissertation: Brief Alcohol Screening and Intervention for College Students (BASICS): A Qualitative Study of Mental Health Practitioners' Experiences on the College Campus; Radford University, Radford, VA -M.S. Counseling and Human Development: Clinical Mental Health; James Madison University, Harrisonburg, VA -M.Ed. Counseling Psychology; University of Wisconsin Stevens Point, Stevens Point, WI - B.S. Psychology

expand description

Marlise Witham

Student Professional Experiences Coordinator
withamm@bvu.edu
B.S. in Elementary Education, Kansas State University; M.S. in Educational Administration,  Emporia State University; M.S. in Special Education, Emporia State University

expand description

Dominic Worrell

Instructor of Exercise Science
worrelld@bvu.edu
BA in Athletic Training from Trinity International University; MS in Kinesiology (emphasis in Athletic Training) from Michigan State University

expand description