Faculty

Education & Exercise Science

‚Äč

Faculty

Education & Exercise Science

Paul Theobald

Dean of the School of Education & Exercise Science
theobaldp@bvu.edu
BA, history, St. John’s University, Collegeville; MS, history, Minnesota State University, Mankato; Ph.D. educational history, University of Illinois, Champaign

expand description

Bev Ahern

Assistant Professor of Exercise Science
Ahern@bvu.edu
BA, Physical Education, Health and Recreation, William Penn College, Oskaloosa, Iowa; MA, Using Technology in Physical Education, University of Northern Iowa.

expand description

Larry Anderson

Instructor of Exercise Science/ Football Coach
ANDERSO1@bvu.edu
B.S., Yankton College; M.S., Eastern New Mexico University

John Bedward

Assistant Professor of Education- Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics
Bedward@bvu.edu
BSc, Technology Education, North Carolina State University, Raleigh; MS, Technology Education, North Carolina State University, Raleigh; PhD, Science Education, North Carolina State University, Raleigh

expand description

Lisa Bengtson

Assistant Athletic Trainer
BengtsonL@bvu.edu
BA, Athletic Training, Augustana College, Sioux Falls, SD; MS, Athletic Training, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, Iowa.

expand description

Janet Berry

Assistant Professor of Exercise Science/
Head Women's Basketball Coach

berry@bvu.edu
B.S., Iowa State University; M.A., Mankato State University

Shaley Cullen

School of Education Lecturer & PK-12 School Partnership Liaison
CullenS@bvu.edu
M.Ed Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Iowa State University; BA English, Secondary Education, Buena Vista University

James Day

Instructor of Exercise Science/
Head Athletic Trainer

DAYJ@bvu.edu
A.A., North Idaho College; B.S., Eastern Washington University; M.Ed., University of Virginia

expand description

Pippa Fineran

Student Professional Experiences Coordinator
FineranP@bvu.edu
BA, Secondary English Education, University of Northern Iowa; MAT, Morningside College, Sioux City

expand description

Julie Finnern

Assistant Professor of Education
finnern@bvu.edu
B.A., Wheaton College; M. A., University of Minnesota

expand description

Katie Frick

Assistant Athletic Trainer and Instructor of Exercise Science
frickk@bvu.edu
BS, Athletic Training, Lynchburg College; MS, Exercise Science, Syracuse University

expand description

Callè Friesen

Assistant Professor of Education - Literacy
Friesen@bvu.edu
B.A., Buena Vista University; M.S.E., Drake University

Matthew Hanson

Assistant Professor of Exercise Science and Athletic Training
hansonm@bvu.edu
BA, Athletic Training, Buena Vista University; MS, Education-teaching and coaching, Southwest Minnesota State University; EdD, Adult and Higher Education, South Dakota State University

expand description

Roberta Hersom

Regional Education Coordinator
HersomR@bvu.edu
BS, Communication Disorders, Western Illinois University; MA, Communication Disorders, Western Illinois University; Iowa Professional Administrator License, Director of Special Education and Evaluator

expand description

Angela Hunter

Regional Education Coordinator
HunterA@bvu.edu
BA, Elementary Education, Central College, Pella; Master’s in Family and Consumer Science with a specialization in Early Childhood Education, Iowa State University, Ames

expand description

Peter Johnson

Instructor of English as a Second Language
Johnson3@bvu.edu

BA, history & Asian studies, St. Olaf College, Northfield; MA, international studies: Japan, University of Washington, Seattle; MA, English: TESL, St. Cloud State University, St. Cloud

expand description

Robbie Ludy

Professor of Special Education
Ludy@bvu.edu
B.S., M.A., Northeast Missouri State University; Ed.D., University of Missouri, Columbia

Jamie Schoenherr

Assistant Athletic Trainer and Lecturer in Athletic Training Education
SchoenherrJ@bvu.edu
B.A., Buena Vista University; M.S., Western Illinois University

expand description

Karin Strohmyer

Assistant Professor of Special Education
strohmyer@bvu.edu
B.S., University of Nebraska, Kearney; M.A., University of Colorado, Colorado Springs; Ph.D., Walden University

expand description

Dominic Worrell

Head Athletic Trainer, Instructor of Exercise Science
worrelld@bvu.edu
BA in Athletic Training from Trinity International University; MS in Kinesiology (emphasis in Athletic Training) from Michigan State University

expand description