Faculty

Education & Exercise Science

Faculty

Education & Exercise Science

Bartholomew-Feis

Dixee Bartholomew-Feis

Professor of History
Dean of the School of Social Science, Philosophy & Religion / Interim Dean of School of Education and Exercise Science
BARTHOLOMEW@bvu.edu
B.A., West Virginia University, M.A. College of William and Mary, Ph.D. The Ohio State University

expand description
Hersom

Roberta Hersom

Assistant Dean, School of Education & Exercise Science
hersomr@bvu.edu
B.S. Communication Disorders, Western Illinois University; M.S. Communication Disorders, Western Illinois University; Director of Special Education Endorsement—Professional Administrator's License; Evaluator Approval; Mediation Training—Conflict Resolution

expand description
Sugiura

Shinichiro Sugiura

Assistant Professor of Exercise Science
Assistant Dean of Exercise Science / Athletic Training Program Director
sugiura@bvu.edu
Ph.D. in Exercise Science, University of Toledo, Toledo, OH (Emphasis on Exercise Physiology); M.S. in Athletic Training, Indiana State University, Terre Haute, IN;  B.S. in Athletic Training, Indiana State University, Terre Haute, IN

expand description

Pamina Abkowitz

Assistant Professor of Special Education
abkowitz@bvu.edu
B.A., Kent State University; M.S., Nazareth College; M.S. Ed., St. John Fisher College; Ed.D., St. John Fisher College

expand description
Baker

Casey Baker

Assistant Professor of Counselor Education
baker4@bvu.edu
ABD, Counselor Education and Supervision; MS, Mental Health Counseling; BS, Psychology Minnesota State University, Mankato, MN

expand description
Barth

Amy Barth

Assistant Professor of Education
barth@bvu.edu
B.H.S., University of Missouri Columbia; M.A., University of South Dakota; Ph.D., University of Kansas; Postdoctoral Fellowship, University of Houston; Certificate of Clinical Competence, Speech-Language Pathology, American Speech-Language-Hearing Association; Certificate of Clinical Competence,State of Missouri: Missouri State Board of Registration for the Healing Arts Speech Language Pathologist, License No. 116598

expand description
Bedward

John Bedward

Assistant Professor of Education
Bedward@bvu.edu
BSc, Technology Education, North Carolina State University, Raleigh; MS, Technology Education, North Carolina State University, Raleigh; PhD, Science Education, North Carolina State University, Raleigh

expand description
Bengtson

Lisa Bengtson

Clinical Education Coordinator/Instructor
BengtsonL@bvu.edu
BA, Athletic Training, Augustana College, Sioux Falls, SD; MS, Athletic Training, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, Iowa; EdD (in progress), Interdisciplinary Leadership, Creighton University, Omaha, NE

expand description
Berry

Janet Berry

Assistant Professor of Exercise Science
berry@bvu.edu
B.S., Iowa State University; M.A., Mankato State University

Boettcher

Erica Boettcher

Instructor of Special Education
boettcher@bvu.edu
B.A. in Elementary Education, Buena Vista University; M.A. in Special Education, Morningside University

expand description
Cullen

Shaley Cullen

Instructor of Education
CullenS@bvu.edu
M.Ed Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Iowa State University; BA English, Secondary Education, Buena Vista University

DeWitt

Lucas DeWitt

Director of Curriculum & Instruction and ESSI Graduate Programs
dewitt2@bvu.edu
B.S., Wartburg College; M.A., Iowa State University; Ed. D., Nova Southeastern University

Grace Eason

Professor of Environmental & Science Education
eason@bvu.edu
Bachelor of Science: Marine Biology, Florida Institute of Technology; Masters of Education, University of Central Florida; PhD.: Environmental Science Education, Florida Institute of Technology

Farnsworth

James Farnsworth

Assistant Professor of Exercise Science
farnsworth@bvu.edu
B.A. University of North Carolina Wilmington; M.S. Ohio University; Ph.D. Middle Tennessee State University

expand description
Friesen

Callè Friesen

Assistant Professor of Education
Friesen@bvu.edu
BA English and Secondary Education, Buena Vista University; MSE Teacher Effectiveness and Professional Development with Reading Specialist, Drake University; Ed.D Cultural Literacy and Educational Leadership, Drake University

expand description
Garling

Brittany Garling

Assistant Professor of Education
garling@bvu.edu
BA Spanish and Secondary Education, Wartburg College MA Foreign language Education and ESL, University of Iowa PhD Foreign Language Education and ESL University of Iowa

expand description
Haas

Leslie Haas

Assistant Professor of Education- Literacy/Early Childhood
haasl@bvu.edu
B.S., Education, Texas State University; M.Ed., Reading, Texas A&M University-Commerce; M.Ed., Educational Administration, Texas A&M University-Commerce; Ed.D., Supervision, Curriculum & Instruction – Elementary Education, Texas A&M University-Commerce

expand description
Heiberger

Ashley Heiberger

Assistant Professor of English as a Second Language
heiberger@bvu.edu
Ph.D., English (specialization in English as a Second Language), Northern Illinois University; M.A., English, University of Tulsa; B.A., English, St. Ambrose University

Hopkins

Mark Hopkins

Assistant Professor Education
hopkins@bvu.edu
B.A. Buena Vista University; M.S. Peru State College; M.S. Northwest Missouri State University; ABD, University of Iowa

expand description
Huntress

Michelle Huntress

Instructor of Education- Literacy/Early Childhood
huntress@bvu.edu
B.A.; M.A.; Administrative Certificate

expand description
Ludy

Robbie Ludy

Professor of Special Education
Ludy@bvu.edu
B.S., M.A., Northeast Missouri State University; Ed.D., University of Missouri, Columbia

Morales

Dominic Morales

Assistant Athletic Trainer
moralesd@bvu.edu
B.S.in Athletic Training, Lindenwood University; M.A. Leadership, Boise State University

expand description

Jennifer Redenius

Instructor of Education- Education Foundations
redenius@bvu.edu
B.A. English and Secondary Education, University of Iowa; M.A. Professional Education, University of Northern Iowa

expand description
Regelstad

Melissa Regelstad

Instructor of Education- Literacy/Early Childhood
regelstad@bvu.edu
A.A., Iowa Lakes Community College; B.A., Elementary Education/Early Childhood Endorsement, Buena Vista University; M.S., Educational Leadership, Southwest Minnesota State University

expand description
Schoenherr

Jamie Schoenherr

Instructor of Exercise Science
SchoenherrJ@bvu.edu
B.A., Buena Vista University; M.S., Western Illinois University

expand description

Jill Siefken

Instructor of Education- Literacy/Early Childhood
siefken@bvu.edu
B.S., Elementary Education, Iowa State University; M.A., Professional Educator, Morningside College; Licensure, Iowa PK-12 Principal/Supervisor of Special Education, Viterbo University

expand description

Jessy Smith

Instructor of Education- Physical Education
smith11@bvu.edu
B.A., M.A., Buena Vista University

Strohmyer

Daniel Strohmyer

Director & Asst. Professor M.Ed. Program
strohmyer2@bvu.edu
Undergraduate: Biology major/Chemistry minor, University of Nebraska Masters: Integration of Technology into the Classroom, Walden University Doctorate: Doctor of Philosophy in Education, Walden University

expand description
Strohmyer

Karin Strohmyer

Assistant Professor of Special Education
strohmyer@bvu.edu
B.S., University of Nebraska, Kearney; M.A., University of Colorado, Colorado Springs; Ph.D., Walden University

expand description

Jacalyn Swink

Instructor of Education- Literacy/Early Childhood
swink@bvu.edu
B.A., Spanish Secondary Education, Western Illinois University; M.S., Reading  Primary/Secondary Education, Western Illinois University

Jill Tussey

Assistant Professor of Education- Literacy/Early Childhood
tussey@bvu.edu
Ed.D., Curriculum and Instruction, Capella University; Literacy Coaching Certificate, Iowa State University; Master of Education- Effective Teaching and Instructional Leadership, Buena Vista University; Bachelor of Arts, Elementary Education, Buena Vista University

expand description
Tuttle

Alaina Tuttle

Instructor of Education- TESL
tuttle@bvu.edu

Alissa Underfer

Instructor of Education- ESSI
underfer@bvu.edu
B.A. Elementary & Special Education, UNI; Master's Degree in Education, Viterbo University; Doctorate in Organizational Leadership; Argosy University

expand description
Weuve

Taylor Weuve

Assistant Athletic Trainer
weuvet@bvu.edu
B.S. Athletic Training, University of Wisconsin – Stevens Point; M.B.A. Lincoln Memorial University;  

Robert Williams

Instructor of Education- Literacy/Early Childhood
williamsr@bvu.edu
B.S. Elementary Education, Iowa State University; M.A., Elementary Education and Educational Leadership

expand description

Tessa Yackle

Instructor of Education- Literacy/Early Childhood
yackle@bvu.edu
A.A., Iowa Central Community College; B.A., Elementary Education, Buena Vista University; M.A., Professional Education, Morningside College