Faculty

School of Communication & Arts

‚Äč

Faculty

School of Communication & Arts

Michael Whitlatch

Dean of the School of Communication & Arts and Professor of Theatre
whitlatch@bvu.edu
B.S., M.A., Miami University; Ph.D., Bowling Green State University

expand description

Jerry Bertrand

Assistant Professor of Instrumental Music
Director of Bands

Bertrand@bvu.edu
B.M.E., Morningside College; M.M.E., University of Northern Iowa

expand description

David Boelter

Associate Professor of Art
Boelter@bvu.edu
B.A., Buena Vista University; M.A., M.F.A., University of Iowa

expand description

Jamii Claiborne

Associate Professor of Media Studies
Claiborne@bvu.edu
B.A. in English & Mass Communication from Buena Vista University. ; M.F.A. in Creative Writing from Old Dominion University.

expand description

Hollace Drake

Assistant Professor of English
Drake@bvu.edu
B.A., Ohio Wesleyan University; M.F.A., Ohio University, Athens; M.A., University of Iowa

expand description

Bruce Ellingson

Professor of Media Studies
ELLINGSON@bvu.edu
B.S., Moorhead State University; M.A., University of Missouri School of Journalism; Ph.D., University of Iowa

expand description

Annamaria Formichella Elsden

Professor of English
Formichella@bvu.edu
B.A., English, University of New Hampshire.; M.F.A., Creative Writing, Emerson College.; M.A., English & American Literature, Tufts University.; Ph.D., American Literature, Tufts University

expand description

Andrea Frantz

Associate Professor of Digital Media
Frantz@bvu.edu
B.A., Simpson College; M.A., Ph.D., Iowa State University

expand description

Mary Gill

Professor of Communication Studies
Gill@bvu.edu
B.A. South Dakota State University ; M.A. South Dakota State University ; Ph.D. University of Nebraska-Lincoln

expand description

Merrin Guice

Assistant Professor of Vocal Music
Guice@bvu.edu
B.A., Spelman Collge; M.M., Rutgers University; D.M.A., University of Wisconsin

expand description

Gwen Hart

Assistant Professor of English Composition
hart@bvu.edu
B.A., Wellesley College; M.A., Hollins University; M.F.A., Minnesota State University; Ph.D., Ohio University

expand description

Jerry Johnson

Assistant Professor of Media Studies
JOHNSON@bvu.edu
B.A., Buena Vista University; M.A., University of South Dakota

expand description

Bryan Kampbell

Assistant Professor of Communication Studies
Director of Honors Program

kampbell@bvu.edu
B.A., University of Nebraska at Kearney; M.A., Ohio State University; Ph.D., Duquesne University

expand description

Kathy Kapitan

Instructor of English Composition
KAPITAN@bvu.edu
B.S., M.A., University of South Dakota

expand description

David Klee

Associate Professor of Instrumental Music
Director of Jazz Studies/Music Production & Technology

klee@bvu.edu
B.A., Mercer College; M.M.Ed., University of South Carolina; DMA, University of Georgia

expand description

Beth Lamoureux

Professor of Communication Studies
Lamoureux@bvu.edu
B.A., Buena Vista University; M.A., Pittsburg State University, Kansas; Ph.D., University of Kansas

expand description

Bethany Larson

Associate Professor of Theatre
Larsonb@bvu.edu
B.F.A, Texas Tech University; M.A., University of Arkansas; Ph.D., University of Kansas

expand description

James McFadden

Associate Professor of English Composition
MCFADDEN@bvu.edu
B.A., M.A., Southern Illinois University; Ph.D., Miami University of Ohio

expand description

Mary Mello-Nee

Associate Professor of Art
Mellonee@bvu.edu
B.A., Buena Vista University; M.F.A., University of South Dakota

expand description

Steven Mills

Assistant Professor of Spanish
mills@bvu.edu
B.A., M.A., Brigham Young University; Ph.D., Purdue University

expand description

Matthew Packer

Assistant Professor of English
Packer@bvu.edu
B.A., M.A., Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand; Ph.D., West Virgina University

expand description

Scott Richey

Associate Professor of Spanish
Richey@bvu.edu
B.A., M.A., Brigham Young University; Ph.D., Indiana University

expand description

Inez Schaechterle

Assistant Professor of English Composition
Schaechterle@bvu.edu
B.S., M.A., M.S. University of Nevada-Reno; Ph.D., Bowling Green State University

expand description

David Walker

Assistant Professor of Theatre
Coordinator of Technical Production & Staging

Walker@bvu.edu
B.A., M.A., University of Arkansas

expand description