Student Media Leaders Place Second in National Contest

Student Media Leaders Place Second in National Contest

Student Media Leaders Place Second in National Contest
Front: Grace Bodey, Kim Nelson; Second row: Cassie Forsyth, Shauna McKnight; Third row: Kaitlyn Christensen, Krystal Schulte, Erika Garcia, Bailey Schafbuch, Tyson Domingo; Back row: April Allen, Kevin Coriolan, David Ekstrom, Courtney Van Haaften.

Buena Vista University's student newspaper The Tack has placed 2nd in the nation for best Online News Web site in the 2012-13 Society for Collegiate Journalists (SCJ) national media contest.

April Allen

In addition to the overall excellence award, April Allen, a senior history and digital media double major from Sioux City, placed 2nd in the individual category of Multimedia Feature Story for her audio narrative "The Music of Two." Her audio story profiled the Storm Lake musical duo Josh Weitzel and Dr. Laura Bernhardt. Commenting on her work, SCJ judge Nathanael Shelton, news editor of the Kenly News, Kenly, N.C., wrote:"Well done broadcast... NPR quality." April is president of the BVU chapter of SCJ.

"To be recognized at the national level is thrilling anytime, but it is particularly gratifying right now because it affirms the new direction The Tack has taken as an online-only news source," said Jamii Claiborne, assistant professor of digital media and Tack advisor. "The honor truly reflects the hard work, good thinking, and skilled storytelling of the students who have been involved and especially the ones who have led. I couldn't be happier for them."

The annual competition involves almost 200 universities and colleges across the nation and all compete head-to-head, regardless of the size of their enrollment.

The contest entrants must have a Society for Collegiate Journalists chapter and BVU's was chartered last fall. "It takes fortitude and energy to get a new chapter up and running one month and prepare entries for the national contest the next. These national awards recognize the students' hard work and leadership," said Dr. Andrea Frantz, associate professor of digital media and the SCJ faculty advisor.

Earlier this year, The Tack Online was named the"2012 Multimedia Organization of the Year" by the Iowa College Media Association. The Tack made the conversion from print to a fully online publication last fall.

Students on the Tack staff are:

  • Grace Bodey, junior graphic design and digital media double major from Belvidere, Ill;
  • Kim Nelson, senior English major from Garnavillo;
  • Shauna McKnight, junior digital media and computer science double major from Bettendorf;
  • Krystal Schulte, sophomore digital media, graphic design, and art triple major from Carroll;
  • Tyson Domingo, sophomore digital media major from Pearl City, Hawaii;
  • April Allen, senior history and digital media double major from Sioux City;
  • Kevin Coriolan, junior corporate communication and digital media double major from Worthington, Minn.;
  • David Ekstrom, senior digital media major from Odebolt;
  • Courtney Van Haaften, junior corporate communications major from Alta;
  • Erika Garcia, senior psychology and Spanish double major from Storm Lake;
  • Bailey Schafbuch, senior corporate communications major from Madrid;
  • Kaitlyn Christensen, junior English major from Irwin;
  • Cassie Forsyth, junior graphic design and visual communication major from Griswold.