BVU to Host Governor’s Volunteer Awards Program on June 13

BVU to Host Governor’s Volunteer Awards Program on June 13

BVU to Host Governor’s Volunteer  Awards Program on June 13

Four individuals with staff and student connections to Buena Vista University are among 118 individuals who will receive a 2012 Governor’s Volunteer Award in ceremonies on June 13 at BVU.

Both Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds are scheduled to participate in the program which starts at 3 p.m. in Anderson Auditorium in the Siebens Forum. BVU is one of six regional locations around the state to host award ceremonies this month.

Those scheduled to receive awards include:

Donna Musel, director of BVU’s Center for Academic Excellence, who has led and coordinated a food distribution program in Storm Lake and has been instrumental in recruiting students as volunteers.

Durant Freeman,
a May graduate in management from Park Forest, Ill., who coordinated BVU’s Cultural Leadership Conference and recruited over 60 student volunteers to assist with the conference. 

Jessica Thuma, a junior international business, Spanish and management triple major from Woodstock, Ill., a coordinator of the BV Buddies program who has helped recruit 40 BVU students to serve as mentors for Storm Lake Middle School students. 

Reid Zimmerman, who was a BVU management major from Kimballton.  He volunteered with The Bridge of Storm Lake, a community outreach organization, helping with food distribution and teaching English.

They were nominated by Dr. Ashley Farmer-Hanson, director of civic engagement at BVU and a member of the Iowa Commission on Volunteer Service.

The Governor’s Volunteer Awards program was created in 1982, with inaugural awards presented in 1983.  What began as a small program only available to state government agencies has expanded over the years and now provides all Iowa nonprofit, charitable and government organizations with a way to honor their volunteers with a prestigious state-level recognition award.

Several hundred volunteers are recognized each year with awards in one of several categories: Individual, Group, Length of Service or Disaster Volunteer.

The program is coordinated by the Iowa Commission on Volunteer Service and the Governor’s Office. A complete list of 2012 award recipients is available at