BVU Hosts High School Student Media Festival

BVU Hosts High School Student Media Festival

BVU Hosts High School Student Media Festival

Buena Vista University's digital media department hosted the second annual SHOWOFF Student Media Festival on April 4. The festival allows high school juniors and seniors to submit media projects for award consideration in a variety of categories.

The categories that received awards this year were video, still photography and online writing, and the Digital Media Master award was given for excellence in overall digital storytelling. The first place award winners received a trophy and a $2,000 scholarship to Buena Vista University, and other winners received certificates.

The award winners:


  • First place: Cole Haeska, a senior from Saint Michael Albertville in Otsego, Minn.
  • Second place: Lauren Adams, a senior at Linn-Mar High School in Marion
  • Third place (tie): Nyajime Jangjuol, a senior, and Ronald Duque, a junior, both from Storm Lake High School in Storm Lake

Still Photography

  • First place: Kyle Wiebers, a senior from Cedar Falls High School in Cedar Falls
  • Second place: Jadyn Mohr, a senior at Ridge View High School in Holstein
  • Third place: Kayla Wilson-Becker, a senior at Benton High School in Van Horne

Online Writing

  • First place: Stephanie Richards, a junior from Glenwood Community High School in Glenwood

Digital Media Master Award

  • Morgan McGrew, a senior from Ankeny High School in Ankeny

The festival reception took place in the Estelle Siebens Science Center on the BVU campus, and a screening of the student entries and award winners was held in the Buena Vista University Art Gallery. During the festival, emcee for the event, Chad Aubrey, production technician at Iowa Public Television (IPTV), offered a keynote speech about the importance of excellence in media work.