Faculty and Staff Honored At Annual Awards Program

Faculty and Staff Honored At Annual Awards Program

Faculty and Staff Honored At Annual Awards Program

The 13th annual Education for Service Award was presented to Deborah Willer during Buena Vista University's Faculty/Staff Recognition Dinner held May 24.

Willer, who has been manager of BVU's Admissions Office since she started working at the university in 1998, says, "It was such an honor and privilege to be nominated and selected by my peers to receive the Education for Service Award. Coming to work every day and helping students, both prospective and current, is such a joy. I am blessed to be part of the BVU community."

The award was established in 1998 by John and Connie Klockentager to honor a faculty or staff member who demonstrates an outstanding work ethic and is valued as a role model within the BVU community. John Klockentager is a former vice president for enrollment services at Buena Vista.

In announcing the award to Willer at the dinner, Mike Frantz, vice president for enrollment management, said "You would need a graphing calculator to count the number of students who have been to her home, the dozens of muffins made for breakfasts shared on campus and the tasty snack bars for wrestling meets. She has reached into her own pocket on many occasions to assist a student in need. Daily, she reaches into her heart and shares pieces of it with those surrounding her."

Seth Lindokken, a May graduate who was president of the Student Senate, announced the winners of two awards selected through voting by students. Tim McDaniel, assistant professor of mathematics, was selected as Faculty Member of the Year. Ken Allen, general manager of Sodexo, which operates the campus food service, was named Staff Member of the Year.

BVU's New Century Faculty Development Awards for Research and Creativity were announced. Winning the award for research was Dr. Jeremy Horpedahl, assistant professor of economics, who published several scholarly works during the 2012 calendar year, including his article "Public Finance and the Extent of the Voting Franchise," which appeared in the journal Public Finance and Management. The award for creative work was presented to Mary Mello-Nee, associate professor of art, who had her painting Galatea-White accepted into a national juried art show in New York City, and another painting accepted to a juried exhibition at the St. Louis University Museum of art.

New Century Faculty Development Awards for Advising were presented to Dr. James Hampton, professor of biology, and Dr. Stephanie Hayes, assistant professor of criminology.

Five retiring faculty members were honored with emeritus status and induction into the Order of Cumberland and Tollefson, which is reserved for retiring faculty members who have given exceptional service to the university. The retirees and their dates of service, are Dr. Bob Ferguson, professor emeritus of psychology (1985-2013); Lanny Grigsby, professor emeritus of mathematics; Dr. Jon Hixon, professor emeritus of guidance and counseling; Dr. Paula Keeler, professor emeritus of vocal music; and Dr. Steven Remington, professor emeritus of marketing.

The following faculty received promotions, as noted, which are effective starting the 2013-14 academic year: Dr. Joni Anderson, associate professor of management; Dr. Melinda Coogan, associate professor of biology; Dr. Stephanie Hayes, associate professor of criminology and criminal justice; Dr. Brian Lenzmeier, professor of biology; Dr. Matthew Packer, associate professor of English; Dr. Jill Rhea, professor of communication studies; Dr. Shawn Stone, professor of physics. Drs. Anderson, Coogan, Hays, Larson and Packer were also granted tenure. The others previously received tenure.

Faculty Member of the Year awards in BVU's Graduate & Professional Studies program were also announced at the dinner.